The Capital Region Workforce Development Board (CRWDB) is responsible for providing oversight and policy direction for the utilization of Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) funds in the Capital Region, comprised of the jurisdictions of Charles City, Chesterfield, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, New Kent, Powhatan, and Richmond City.

The CRWDB is a majority business-led body, appointed by the Consortium of Local Elected Officials. The CRWDB, whose composition is defined by the federal law, includes individuals representing business leaders, local educational entities, labor organizations, community-based organizations, economic development agencies, and other workforce agencies.

The CRWDB governs three workforce center locations in the Capital region that exist to service local businesses and job seekers and provide them with the resources necessary to succeed.


Our board provides fiscal and programmatic oversight as well as establishes policies to carry out the board’s workforce development mission. Learn more about us below.

Board Membership
Upcoming Meetings
View Public Documents


The local jurisdictions of the region have a shared responsibility to seek local area designation from the Governor, receive the federal funds and assume liability for use of funds, appoint the members of the Workforce Development Board and have budget oversight and authority.  The elected officials also have shared authority with the Board on matters of planning, program and service provider oversight.

Hon. Gilbert Smith

Charles City County

Hon. Patricia S. O’Bannon

Henrico County

Hon. James Holland, Chairman

Chesterfield County

Hon. Patricia Paige, Vice Chairman

New Kent County

Hon. Don Sharpe

Goochland County

Hon. Karin Carmack

Powhatan County

Hon. Angela Kelly-Wiecek

Hanover County

Hon. Michael Jones

City of Richmond


Alice Bowyer

Employment & Training Specialist
(804) 652-3238

Elsie Best

Fiscal Manager

(804) 652-3253

Carla Cosby

Administrative Assistant
(804) 652-3225

Raymond Jones

Facilities Manager
(804) 952-6114

Andree Davis

Youth Development Specialist
(804) 652-3229

Krishawn L. Monroe

Assistant Director
(804) 652-3224

Brian Davis

Executive Director
(804) 652-3228

Didn’t Find Your Answer?

Please don’t hesitate to contact us and we will be happy to help you find the answers to your questions!

Contact Us